Welcome to Faculty 10

The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences consists of the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics with a total of 41 disciplines. The focus of the interdisciplinary scientific research lies on Nanosciences, Photonics and Mathematics. The four subject-didactical departments and the field of Technical Basic Education collectively form the core empirical educational research in the STEM subjects.


With its advanced scientific institutions, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences is a central component of the University of Kassel landscape. Located on three sites with a total area of 19,000 sq. meters, the faculty employs approximately 400 scientific, technical, and administrative staff. Students can choose amongst 23 different study programmes to complete a Bachelor, Master, or state examination for a teaching degree (L1 - L4).